(UPI) The United Nations has suspended the voting rights of Iran and four smaller African countries because they have not settled delinquent dues.

The international body says Iran, Sao Tome and Principe, Central African Republic, Comoros and Somalia owe two years worth of dues and under the U.N. charter.

As a result of the move, the nations cannot vote in the General Assembly.

Iran owes more than $16 million in dues, more than any other delinquent nation.

“We have been in very intense discussions with the Islamic Republic of Iran on finding a way for them to pay their dues,” Stephane Dujarric, a spokesman for Secretary-General Antonio Guterrestold reporters Thursday.

“The minimum paid needed to be paid by the Central African Republic is $29,395; by Comoros, $871,632; by the Islamic Republic of Iran, $16,251,298; São Tomé and Príncipe, $829,888; and Somalia, $1,443,640.”

Tehran blamed the unpaid debt on U.S. sanctions that has frozen Iranian money worldwide.

Read Full Story

Share this:

By Media Bias Fact Check

Media Bias Fact Check was founded by Dave Van Zandt in 2015. Dave is a registered Non-Affiliated voter who values evidence-based reporting.

Leave a Reply