United Press International (UPI) - Least Biased - Not Liberal (Left) -Not Conservative (Right) - Credible

Source: UPI

There were no surprises in Senate leadership elections Tuesday as Sen. Mitch McConnell of Kentucky was chosen to remain majority leader and Sen. Chuck Schumer of New York as minority leader.

Neither McConnell, R-Ky., or Schumer, D-N.Y., faced opposition in their bids for re-election.

For Republicans, Sen. John Thune of South Dakota will remain the majority whip, Wyoming Sen. John Barasso as conference chair, Iowa Sen. Joni Ernst as vice conference chair and Missouri Sen. Roy Blunt as policy committee chair.

For Democrats, Illinois Sen. Dick Durbin remains minority whip and Washington Sen. Patty Murray is assistant Democratic leader. Michigan Sen. Debbie Stabenow is policy and communications committee chair and New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker is the leadership team’s junior member.

Democrats still have an opportunity to take control of the Senate, but the outcome will rely on both Georgia races that are headed for runoffs in January.

Full Story @ UPI

Share this:

By Media Bias Fact Check

Media Bias Fact Check was founded by Dave Van Zandt in 2015. Dave is a registered Non-Affiliated voter who values evidence-based reporting.

Leave a Reply